SCARC | South Carolina Association of Regional Councils


Launched more than five decades ago by visionary state leaders, today there are 10 Councils of Governments (COGs) in South Carolina. Each represents a multi-county planning district. Each of the state’s 46 counties falls within a COG region.

COGs are partnerships of – and provide resources to – the local counties cities and towns in their regions. The Councils are also partners with numerous Federal and state agencies, obtaining and administering grants for a variety of community-based programs and economic development initiatives.

COGs are recognized for their fiscal responsibility and outstanding capabilities in professional program management. As a result, thousands of state residents today depend on COG services and capabilities for a host of critical functions that affect quality of life and economic development. From extension of water and sewer lines in rural areas to providing ready transportation to the doctor and government offices to overseeing compliance with clean water standards, COG programs are filling vital community needs.

For general information, please contact